Can you take an hour to celebrate with us on Saturday April 26th?

The Ontario Government's Trillium Foundation

This coming Saturday, at 11am, we’ll be doing some concentrated celebrating at the Club for an hour or so.

Join us in celebrationThe Honourable Jim Bradley, MPP, with Mayor McMullan of St. Catharines, and a member of the Ontario Trillium Foundation (the Government of Ontario’s OTF) evaluation committee, Mr. Harvie Hagerty, will be joining us for a formal announcement that will help us to radically revamp our great facility later this year.

Please come and join us (we’re even providing coffee and some sweet treats!); invite your family and friends. It’s your opportunity to say thank you to the OTF, and the City for their financial and in-kind support for our athletes, and indeed young athletes from right across the Region, who use our unique facility every year at about this time and through to the summer.

We hope that you can come out and join us in celebration.


Heather Petrick wins the XC Nationals

2013VancouverXCChampsLogoCongratulations to Heather Petrick on winning the XC Nationals in Vancouver today by a serious margin!


We are speechless, in awe, WOW!

The ladies’ team was 7th overall, just a fabulous achievement all round.


Congratulations to Sharon and all the coaches. Your dedication continues to give our athletes opportunities they only dreamed about!

November’s Lament turns to Smiles…

Sharon Shares:

Niagara Olympic Club is proud to announce it will be hosting the Athletics Ontario Cross Country Championships for 2014.


"Two summers springs and autumns sad
Three winters cold and grey --
And then it's not so long to go
That wild November day!"

Recognition for recognizing how this should have read...


The Gold Standard from AC…

The 2013 International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Championship was Canada’s best ever. Five Canadians stood on the podium surpassing the previous best of four in 1995.
By the Numbers:
5 medals for Canada
  • Brianne Theisen-Eaton – Heptathlon – Silver
  • Dylan Armstrong – Shot Put – Bronze
  • Derek Drouin – High Jump – Bronze
  • Damian Warner – Decathlon – Bronze
  • Men’s 4x100m Relay – Gavin Smellie, Aaron Brown, Dontae Richards-Kwok, Justyn Warner – Bronze


Virginia McLachlan wins Canada’s first track and field medal at the 2012 Paralympic Games

From Athletics Canada:

LONDON, UK – Virginia McLachlan of Windsor, Ont., today won Canada’s first track and field medal and Canada’s sixth medal overall at the 2012 Paralympic Games. Day one of track and field competition also saw a new Canadian record, a top eight performance and four athletes through to later rounds.


Canadian Sprint Legend Leads Hall of Fame Inductees

From Athletics Ontario:

TORONTO, ONTARIO – August 23rd, 2012 —- Canadian 200m record holder Atlee Mahorn leads an outstanding group of individuals who are to be inducted into the Athletics Ontario Hall of Fame on Saturday September 22nd. 

The induction ceremony will be one of the highlights of the Athletics Ontario Awards dinner held at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites.

“I was very pleased to hear the news about the induction,” said Atlee Mahorn. “It’s a nice honor. At my age I’m doing everything to prevent my eleven year old son from beating me so this is a great reminder of how things were. Youth, they say is wasted on the young.”

A graduate of Toronto’s Central Technical School and the University of California at Berkeley, Mahorn says he plans to fly to Toronto from his home in Miami, Florida to accept the honour in person. 

Mahorn set his record of 20.17 seconds at the 1991 IAAF World Championships in Tokyo. His performance earned him the bronze medal. Two years later he ran a leg on Canada’s bronze medal winning 4 x 100 relay team at the world championships in Stuttgart. He was also crowned Commonwealth 200m Champion in 1986. 

Joining the acclaimed sprinter in this year’s induction will be Mark Boswell (two time world championship medalist in the high jump), Don Domansky (former Canadian 400m record holder and two time Olympian), Dave Bailey (Canada’s first sub four minute miler), two-time Olympic pentathlete Jennie Wingerson, Ken Twigg (former Toronto Star Indoor Games Meet Director), Chris Pickard (former secretaryof Central Ontario TFA), the late George Gray (former world record holder in the Shot), Peter Manning (an international coach for forty years) and Ken & Elaine Lake (long serving international officials).

Tickets for the dinner are now on sale at $55 each. For further information or to reserve tickets or tables please contact Anthony Biggar at(416) 426-7215 or or visit our web site at:

About Athletics Ontario 

Athletics Ontario (formerly the Ontario Track & Field Association) is the not-for-profit sport governing body for athletics (track and field, road running, cross country and race walking) for the province of Ontario. The association is athlete-centred, volunteer-based and club-and-community driven.

For more information please contact:

Anthony Biggar
Manager, Communications & Public Relations
Athletics Ontario

3 Concorde Gate, Suite 211, Toronto, ON M3C 3N7